In one particular sermon, Abu Bakr رضي الله عنه said:

“By Allah, on no day or evening of my life have I ever aspired to become a ruler (over a group of people). I never desired any such position , and I never invoked Allah, either out in the open or secretly, to make me a leader (over a group of people). I accepted your appointment only because I feared the onset of strife and discord (had you continued to disagree with one another over who should be appointed to the caliphate). As a leader, I know neither peace nor comfort, for I have been charged with a tremendous duty, which I will never be able to fulfill unless Allah, the Possessor of Might and Majesty, strengthens me. And I would love it if the strongest of people (i.e. ‘Umar or Abu ‘Ubaidah) were to take my place.”

Al-Mustadrak

Declared authentic by Al-Haakim and Adh-Dhahabi

